Explanation of “The Beauty Recognition Song”

Explanation by the writer and performer Marie LaShance Thomas

One thought on “Explanation of “The Beauty Recognition Song”

  1. Lyrics
    Beauty Recognition Lyrics
    So if you don’t recognize my beauty
    So what, it’s how he made
    Exactly how I’m ‘posed to be
    Don’t impose these standards on me
    I take no responsibility
    For your limited ability
    To appreciate this imagery
    That he crafted personally for me

    It’s just a matter of…
    Beauty recognition it’s such a flawed system
    Basin’ my value and worth on something I’ll never find in the Word
    Beauty recognition, you can beat this system
    Stop asking for permission to celebrate your own reflection

    So if you yeah appreciate my beauty
    Thank you ‘cuz it’s how he made me
    Exactly how it’s ‘posed to be
    But that don’t give me no seniority
    I must take responsibility cultivating it internally
    Celebrating my look, won’t let me off the hook

    It’s just matter of….

    Beauty recognition it’s such a flawed system
    Basin’ your value and worth on something you’ll never find in God’s Word
    Beauty recognition, there’s no greater deception than
    Being filled with pride and arrogance just because they be sayin’ you elegant

    Bridge:
    You gotta’ let God be true and every man be a liar
    Cuz my God said that when he made woman it was good so it’s good

    You gotta’ let God be true and every man be a liar
    Cuz my God said that when he made you, you were good so you’re good

    You gotta’ let God be true and every man be a liar
    Cuz my God said that when he made me I was good, so I’m good

    Beauty recognition, there’s no greater deception than
    Being filled with pride and arrogance just because someone said you were elegant
    Beauty recognition opt out of this system stop asking for permission to celebrate your own reflection

Leave a Reply

